Featured Alumni
These are showcases from the Alumni Corner of our newsletter.

Ronan Doherty

CEO at ElectroRoute

Born in 1979 Ronan is a UCD man through and through, having completed his undergraduate degree here he also graduated with a PhD in 2005 with his thesis titled “New Methods for Planning and Operating Modern Electricity Systems with Significant Wind Generation.” He then took up the position of Trading & Investment Risk Manager at the hugely successful Irish renewables and electricity supply company Airtricity, where he was responsible for a complex portfolio of generation and customer demand. In 2005, he moved to Edinburgh and joined start-up company Aquamarine Power as
Chief Technical Officer and helped lead the development of their wave energy technology during a period of significant expansion and growth. In February of 2011 Ronan founded ElectroRoute, where he is currently CEO and Managing Director. ElectroRoute is a specialist energy trading company focused on the electricity and gas markets. Its energy trading platform covers a range of activities in the Irish, UK and continental European markets.

ERC Alumni

More than 44 Alumni (graduated with PhD or masters or worked as a postdoc within the ERC)  are now working in academia, industry and start-ups both in Ireland and internationally.

Additionally there are 45 students that have taken part in the various ENI programmes to date, and many visiting researchers and students that have spent time with us.

Kumaravel Sundaramoorthy (2016) Senior Researcher
Daniel Burke (2016) Senior Researcher
Manuel Marin (2016) PhD
Mingsong Li (2015) PhD
Antonio De Bonis (2015) Masters Student
Niall Farrell (2015) Senior Researcher
Daire McCoy (2015) PhD
Mario Dzamarija (2015) PhD
Zakir Hussain (2015) Senior Researcher
Edward Corry (2015) Senior Researcher
Estefania Valero (2015) Masters
Andrej Gubina (2014) Research Lecturer
Lisa Ruttledge (2014) PhD
Colm Lowery (2014) PhD
Erik Ela (2014) PhD
James Carroll (2014) PhD
Muireann Lynch (2014) PhD
Eknath Vittal (2013) PhD
Eamonn Lannoye (2013) PhD
Amy O’Mahoney(2013) PhD
Aonghus Shortt (2013) PhD
Peter Richardson (2012) PhD
David Kavanagh (2012) MEngSc
Niamh Troy (2011) PhD/Researcher
Eknath Vittal (2011) PhD/Researcher
Ronan Fitzmaurice (2011) PhD/Researcher
Batsaikhan Nyamdash (2011) PhD
Stefano Verde (2011) PhD
Daniel Burke (2010) PhD/Researcher
Sonya Twohig (2009) MEngSc
Aidan Tuohy (2009) PhD/Researcher
Emma Silke (2008) Researcher
Andrew Keane (2007) PhD
Eleanor Denny (2007) PhD
Alan Mullane (2006) Researcher/Lecturer
Garth Bryans (2006) PhD
Gill (Lalor) Nolan (2005) PhD
Ronan Doherty (2005) PhD
Hugh Mullany (2005) Researcher
Timothy Hurley (2004) MEngSc
Shane Rourke (2003) MEngSc
Meadhbh (Flynn) Connolly (1999) PhD
Paul Sheridan (1999) MEngSc
Jody Dillon (1998) MEngSc
Michael Walsh (1998) PhD
Fergus Keane (1997) Researcher
Jonathan O’Sullivan (1996) PhD
Fintan Slye (1993) MEngSc